List of error messages - "No download components found. Downloads node is empty."

Mar 24, 2009 at 1:45 PM
Is there a list of error messages and their causes anywhere?

My bootstrapper compiles, but when I run it I get a message box with "No download components found. Downloads node is empty".

I don't understand what this means. I've checked all my downloaddialog/downloads/download elements in my config file and I can't find anything wrong. I don't know where to look further to resolve this with so little info in the error message. Btw, if it was just malformed XML, shouldn't the linker have complained?

Obviously, I'm a newbie. Any pointers would be appreciated.
Coordinator
Mar 24, 2009 at 9:07 PM
I'll check it out. Can you please tell me whether you're using 1.5 or 1.6 beta (if you haven't tried 1.6 beta, please do) and attach a config file (maybe copy/paste). Thx.
Mar 25, 2009 at 8:46 AM
Edited Mar 25, 2009 at 8:48 AM
Thx. I've sent it in a private message to you, to avoid corp permission reasons. If you haven't got it, please give me an e-mail adress I can send it to.

Yeah, I'm using 1.6 beta.

EDIT: Also sent it to the e-mail adress you use on the WiX list.
Coordinator
Mar 25, 2009 at 2:25 PM
This turned out to be pretty simple. Your configuration file schema is 1.5, but you're using a 1.6 build. There're have been significant schema changes, but the editor is backwards compatible. Simply reopen the config file in the 1.6 InstallerEditor and resave it. This shouldn't be allowed and both the linker and the bootstrapper should at least produce a warning. There's a workitem, [workitem:1760] about this.

Let me know if you have any more problems.
Coordinator
Mar 25, 2009 at 2:26 PM